Contact Us   |   Print Page   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join
Share |

Fire Underwriters Survey & the CAFC National Awards


Sponsored by: Fire Underwriters Society and the Canadian Association of Fire Chiefs
Submission Deadline: August 17, 2018

Each year, the Canadian Association of Fire Chiefs (CAFC) recognizes men and women who promote the fire services in Canada.  During CAFC’s annual conference, Fire Rescue Canada, a select number of Fire Chiefs representing the fire services industry will be recognized by the CAFC and Fire Underwriters Survey for their outstanding contribution.


Individuals who are eligible for nomination and selection for Awards of Excellence must be active chiefs in full time career or volunteer positions with the fire services in Canada.  Those individuals who have recently retired will also be considered.  One from each category will be chosen.

Nomination and Selection

  • Nominations will only be accepted online.
  • All nomination must include a clear, concise, and succint narrative description  of the candidates’ achievements or contributions. Additional background information may be attached.
  • An independent panel of judges, drawn from the Canadian Association of Fire Chiefs and Fire Underwriters Survey will adjudicate the nominations.
  • Awards are officially announced immediately prior to and presented at Fire-Rescue Canada each year.


Award Criteria

Two awards will be presented each year to one volunteer fire chief and one full time career fire chief.

  • Candidates must have made outstanding contributions to the betterment of their community and of the fire services industry over several years in areas such as safety, sustainable community program development, education, community service or policy development.


  • Candidates must have achieved, through their innovation and initiative on a particular project or program, positive and measurable improvement of significant and enduring benefit to the fire services industry and their community.



The candidates chosen for the Awards of Excellence will be presented with an appropriate plaque or suitable object of recognition designed and presented by Fire Underwriters Survey.

A monetary award would be contributed in the names of the candidates to further programs in their individual communities.  The winning candidate will be asked to choose the program that he or she would like to support.

 Click Here to Begin Your Nomination (English)



 Click Here to Begin Your Nomination (French)



Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal